## The Honorable Lord Allan Jay Q. Velasco

N - 601, North Wing Building and Penthouse, Ramon V Mitra Building, House of Representatives, Batasan Hills Quezon City, 1126 Metro Manila

## Dear House Speaker Velasco:

We, the Philippine business organizations, reaffirm our solid and indisputable support for the immediate enactment of the Corporate Recovery and Tax Incentives for Enterprises (CREATE) bill, formerly known as the Corporate Income Tax and Incentives Reform Act (CITIRA).

We join the multisectoral call for the ratification of CREATE this January 2021.

CREATE is a historic economic reform, one of the largest in decades. As a stimulus package, CREATE will be a boost to market confidence, providing instant relief to businesses suffering from business reverses due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

We particularly support the immediate reduction of the corporate income tax (CIT) rate from 30 to 20 percent for small and medium enterprises earning net taxable income not exceeding 5 million pesos, and from 30 to 25 percent for all other corporations, effective July 1, 2020. These would instantly bring the country's CIT rate closer to the ASEAN average of 21.65% and give us more resources to retain our employees and to keep up with financial difficulties. As an investment-attracting move, the CIT cut also alters the financial prospectus of the Philippines for the better.

We are hopeful the proposal to give flexible authority to the Fiscal Incentives Review Board (FIRB) and the President in granting both fiscal and non-fiscal incentives will make the tax incentives system an agile mechanism that can seize high-value investment opportunities. We thank Congress for including proper safeguards against abuse of discretion or making it a political tool to grant favors to undeserving recipients.

We also recognize that CREATE provides a transition of 10 years for current holders of incentives. This should ease some concerns about the tax regime change.

We humbly request the House of Representatives to move quickly and decisively to push CREATE forward and ensure its immediate enactment. After three years of deliberation, every day of delay comes at the risk of losing more jobs and hemorrhaging more investments. We call for the ratification of this measure within January of this year 2021.

MM Smile

Rolando R. Abello President ACI Philippines

Cesar P. Consing President Bankers Association of the Philippines (BAP)

Hubert Henry T. Chua President Anvil Business Club

Gordon Alan P. Joseph President Cebu Business Club (CBC)

Atty. Ma. Filomena L. Rosales President Ateneo Law Alumni Association, Inc. (ALAAI)

Gordon Alan P. Joseph President Cebu Leads Foundation (CLF)

Cecilio Paul D. San Pedro President Chamber of Thrift Bank (CTB)

Mukesh Advani President Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce Philippines Inc. (FICCI)

Angelito M. Villanueva Chairman Fintech Alliance Philippines

J Vincent R. Daffon President Fund Managers Association of the Philippines (FMAP)

Francisco F. Del Rosario, Jr. Chairman Institute for Solidarity in Asia, Inc. (ISA)

Atty. Maria Trinidad P. Villareal

President

Intellectual Property Association of the Philippines (IPAP)

Bienvenido A. Marquez III

President

Licensing Executives Society

Philippines (LESP)

allargi

IN. L

Alfredo B. Parungao Chairman CIBI Foundation, Inc.

Atty. Francisco Ed. Lim President Financial Executives Institute of the Philippines (FINEX)

Calixto V. Chikiamko President Foundation for Economic Freedom (FEF)

Maria Katrina Yatco President Guild of Real Estate Professionals (GREENPRO)

Rex C. Drilon II President Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD)

Robert Lehmann President Investment House Association of the Philippines (IHAP)

/ Edgar O. Chua President Makati Business Club (MBC)

Henry Lim Bong Liong

Federation of Filipino-Chinese Chambers of Commerce & Industry, Inc. (FFCCCII)

Justo A. Ortiz Chairman Fintech Philippines Association

Christophe Vicic President French Chamber of Commerce and Industry in the Philippines (CCI France-Philippines)

(signed) Eugene T. Yap President Hotel and Restaurant Association of the Philippines (HRAP)

Atty. Domingo Egon Q. Cayosa National President Integrated Bar of the Philippines (IBP)

Rey Untal President IT and Business Process Association of the Philippines (IBPAP)

Aurelio R. Montinola III President Management Association of the Philippines (MAP)

Cintera Phra

Cristina Arceo President Money Market Association of the Philippines (MART)

Paolo Giovanni Olivares National President Organization of Socialized Housing Developers of the Philippines (OSHDP)

Jose Ma. Concepcion III Presidential Adviser for Entrepreneurship / Founder, Philippine Center for Entrepreneurship (Go Negosyo)

Octavio B. Peralta Founder/ CEO Philippine Council of Association and Association Executives (PCAAE)

limar.

Rosemarie Bosch-Ong President Philippine Retailers Association (PRA)

Elizabeth Carlos-Timbol President Rural Bankers of the Philippines (RBAP)

Imelda Magtoto National President National Real Estate Association, Inc. (NREA)



Ismael G. Cruz President Philippine Association of Securities Brokers and Dealers, Inc. (PASBDI)

Sherill Quintana President Philippine Franchise Association (PFA)

Lope Bato, Jr. National President Philippine Institute of Certified Public Accountants (PICPA)

Ma. Aurora D. Geotina-Garcia Chairperson Philippine Women's Economic Network (PHILWEN)

Jaime Ysmael President Shareholders' Association of the Philippines (SHAREPHIL)

Bo Lundqvist President Nordic Chamber of Commerce of the Philippines, Inc. (NORDCHAM)

Rui V. Lemmy

Atty. Rico V. Domingo President Philippine Bar Association (PBA)

Julo

Arthur Lopez President Philippine Hotel Owners Association, Inc. (PHOA)

Benderto C. Sim

Benedicto C. Sison President Philippine Life Insurance Association (PLIA)

Charlie P. Villaseñor Chairman Procurement and Supply Institute of Asia (PASIA)

John Peter Hager President Spanish Chamber of Commerce in the Philippines (LA CAMARA)



May P. Rodriguez National President Subdivision and Housing Developers Association (SHDA)

Jeffrey Ng President UP School of Economics Alumni Association (UPSEAA)

Atty. Romeo H. Duran President Tax Management Association of the Philippines (TMAP)

Archm/alencia

Atty. Ma. Cristina V. Concepcion President Trust Officers Association of the Philippines (TOAP)

Maria Monserrat Iturralde-Hamlin Chairperson Women's Business Council Philippines (WBCP)

Alejandro Co President Chinese Filipino Business Club, Inc. (CFBC)